The Tibetan Language

NOTE: You need to have the Tibetan Computer Company's TibetanMachineD font installed on your system to see this page properly.

Tibetan is the official language of Tibet, and in various dialects it is spoken in from Kashmir, Baltistan, Ladhakh, Zanskar, Lahoul, Spiti, Kinnaur etc of the Himalayan region in NW India, Mustang and Solo-Khumbu and all the Northern border of Nepal, Sikkim, Bhutan and Arunachal Pradesh in NE India through Northern Burma to SW and Western China.

In Tibet itself there are three main regional dialect groups; the Central Tibetan (+/<U+) including Lhasa dialect (T<U+), Eastern Tibetan ("0<U+) and Northern Tibetan (>0+U+).

There are thirty consonants and four main vowel modifiers (making five main vowels), described on the Tibetan Alphabet page. However the letter may by stacked together to give many further combinations. Letters are stacked and clustered make syllables that are spoken and written.

/+U+ Tibetan language
$70$/Y,73,8, my name is Tenzin
*#<B& thank you
:#<8, yes
:#<0, no
May all father- and mother-like sentient beings have happiness!
#:./< good bye
1 2
3 4
5 6
7 8
9 10

Return to the Tibetan Culture index page.
Created by Sönam Tenzin. Comments and suggestions for improvements are welcome--Sönam Tenzin. Last updated 17 December 1999.